COVID-19 in Montenegro: 172 Active Cases, 17 Newly Infected, Update June 29, 2020

By , 29 Jun 2020, 12:55 PM News
COVID-19 in Montenegro: 172 Active Cases, 17 Newly Infected, Update June 29, 2020 Illustration, Source: Shutterstock
June 29, 2020 - As of yesterday's cross-section of the condition at 6 pm, the Institute's laboratories have completed the analysis of 243 samples, 17 of which were positive for COVID-19 infection. One case was imported from Bosnia and Herzegovina. Six were contacts of previously positive patients, while in 10 patients, the source of infection is being traced.
These are cases from Podgorica (9), Pljevlja (4), Tivat (2), Herceg Novi (1), and Rožaje (1).

Since mid-June, 174 cases of COVID-19 have been registered in Montenegro, by municipalities: 

Rožaje: 59
Podgorica: 43
Bijelo Polje: 13
Budva: 14
Berane: 12
Pljevlja: 6
Cetinje: 5
Bar: 5
Ulcinj: 4
Danilovgrad: 3
Tuzi: 2
Tivat: 2
Herceg Novi: 3
Kotor: 1
Gusinje: 1
Niksic: 1
Two deaths were also registered, bringing the number of currently active COVID-19 cases to 172.

COVID-19 confirmed at kindergarten in Tivat

After a test was performed last night at around 11 pm, the presence of COVID-19 infection was confirmed in a teacher from the educational unit Tivat, Public Preschool Institution "Bambi." All epidemiological measures will be implemented according to the epidemiologist, just as has been done so far, the Municipal Team for Protection and Rescue stated.
The public will be informed in a timely fashion on further developments, and until the implementation of controls, testing of all contacts and all other necessary steps, the Public Preschool Institution Bambi in Tivat will remain closed, the kindergarten announced.

European Union to Publish List of 15 Non-Member Countries Whose Citizens Will be Allowed to Enter EU from July

Spanish Foreign Minister Aranca Gonzalez Laja said that the European Union is compiling a list of 15 non-member countries whose citizens will be able to travel to the EU from Wednesday.
The final list will be published this afternoon or tomorrow morning, Gonzales told Spanish radio Kadena SER.
"This is not an attempt to be inclined or hostile to countries. It is an attempt at collective responsibility," the minister said.
Gonzalez Laja stated that the EU considers accepting passengers from China if Beijing responds by taking passengers from the EU from July 1.
She also confirmed that Spain would fully open its borders with Portugal, despite the increase in infections in the neighboring country.

If the EU criteria are adopted, citizens of Serbia, BiH, and Russia will not be able to enter Montenegro.

Citizens of at least 26 countries, including Slovenia and Croatia, could enter Montenegro from July 1, if the European Union's (EU) main criterion for calculating the declining rate of coronavirus infections is adopted.
On Sunday, the National Coordination Body decided that Montenegro should harmonize its further policy of opening borders with the EU's policy and decisions as soon as they are final and announced.
Radio Free Europe reports that the European Commission's (EC) guidelines on opening external borders state that the epidemiological situation should be comparable or better than the EU average for a positive decision.
According to these guidelines, the infection rate should be a maximum of 16 new cases per 100,000 inhabitants in the last 14 days.
The MINA agency processed the data on the number of patients using the World Health Organization, Worldmeters, as sources, and the change in the number of newly infected from June 14 to 28 was taken, which was recalculated at the rate of 100 thousand inhabitants for each of the observed countries.
MINA analyzed data from EU countries, countries in the region, the United States of America (USA), Great Britain, Russia, Turkey, Switzerland, and Canada.
According to that criterion, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Northern Macedonia, Kosovo, the USA, Russia, Bulgaria, Israel, Portugal, Romania, and Sweden and Liechtenstein will not be able to enter Montenegro.
Citizens of Slovenia, Croatia, Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Norway, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, and Switzerland will enter Montenegro, among others.
In the period under review, Serbia has 24.8 new cases per 100 thousand, and Montenegro 24.7.
Free Europe writes that even if the EC recommendations are adopted, they are not binding on EU member states, which can individually continue with the implementation or abolition of restrictive measures for travel of citizens from so-called third countries.
Also, each EU country has the sovereign right to individually introduce additional preventive measures for citizens who may come from third countries, according to which the borders are open.

Photo galleries and videos